Lahey Health Behavioral Services’ Dr. Mary Anna Sullivan Presented with MITSS’ Annual HOPE Award

November 16, 2016

Boston, MA (November 16, 2016) – Earlier this month, Mary Anna Sullivan, MD, Chief Medical Officer of Lahey Health Behavioral Services, was presented with the HOPE Award at the Medically Induced Trauma Support Services, Inc. (MITSS) at its annual meeting in Boston.

MITSS, Inc. is a non-profit organization founded in June of 2002 whose mission is to support healing and restore hope to patients, families, and clinicians who have been affected by an adverse medical event.  Medically Induced Traumas are unexpected outcomes that occur during medical and/or surgical care that affect the emotional well-being of patients, family members or clinicians. MITSS was founded to create awareness, promote open and honest communication, and provide services, support and advocacy to patients, families, and clinicians affected by medically induced trauma.

The MITSS HOPE Award was established in 2008 to recognize patients, families, healthcare providers, hospitals, academic institutions and others that exemplify the mission of MITSS: Supporting Healing and Restoring Hope to patients, families, and clinicians impacted by adverse medical events. Dr. Sullivan received the award because throughout her career, she has worked on both the provider and patient sides of this issue, as both an advocate for the safety and well-being of physicians and nurses, as well as ensuring the safety of patients as the Chair of Physician Services at the Massachusetts Medical Society and through her leadership of the Coalition for Prevention of Medical Errors.

"I am honored and humbled to receive the MITSS HOPE Award,” said Dr. Sullivan. “It has been a wonderful privilege over the years to work with Linda Kenney and so many others dedicated to better, safer care for patients and caregivers alike."

In her role as Chief Medical Officer of Lahey Health Behavioral Services, Dr. Sullivan oversees the integration of behavioral health and addiction services throughout the Lahey Health system. She is also a clinical assistant professor at Tufts University School of Medicine.  Dr. Sullivan was chief resident in psychiatry at Brigham and Women’s Hospital from 1984-85, joining Lahey in 1986. She is a graduate of Dartmouth College and the Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York, and is board certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology.

“When I learned Mary Anna Sullivan was this year’s recipient of the HOPE Award, I was thrilled,” said Linda Kenney, President and Executive Director of MITSS. “Mary Anna has always made sure patients were in the forefront of the patient safety work and she’s been equally committed to make sure frontline staffs’ needs were addressed as well.”

For additional information about MITSS or the MITSS HOPE Award, visit  For more information about Lahey Health, including lists of services and physicians as well as what separates it from other healthcare systems, visit, follow the Lahey Health Twitter feed, or become a fan on Facebook.

About Lahey Health

Lahey Health is what's next in health care, providing a full continuum of integrated health services close to where you live or work. It is comprised of nationally recognized, award-winning hospitals—including an academic hospital and medical center, and community hospitals—primary care providers, specialist physicians, behavioral health services, post-acute programs such as home health services, skilled nursing and rehabilitation facilities, and senior care resources located throughout northeastern Massachusetts and southern New Hampshire. 

Lahey Health offers nearly 1,400 locally based physicians providing clinical excellence and an exceptional patient experience in adult and pediatric primary care and every medical specialty, including kidney and liver transplantation; neurosurgery, cancer, cardiovascular and orthopedic medical and surgical care; local emergency and trauma care; urological surgery; chronic disease prevention and health management; and pediatric emergency, newborn and inpatient care provided in collaboration with Boston Children's Hospital physicians. 

Lahey Health includes Lahey Hospital & Medical Center—a teaching hospital of Tufts University School of Medicine—and Lahey Clinic physician group with practices in Burlington, Peabody and other locations throughout northeastern Massachusetts and southern New Hampshire; Beverly Hospital; Addison Gilbert Hospital in Gloucester, Mass.; Winchester Hospital; Lahey Health Senior Care and Lahey Health Behavioral Services as well as more than 30 primary care physician practices and multiple outpatient and satellite specialty care facilities. 

Together, we are making innovative, integrated healthcare more personal and more accessible. For more information, visit and its member websites Lahey Hospital & Medical CenterBeverly Hospital, Winchester Hospital, and Lahey Health Behavioral Services





Kyle B. Reilly

Director, Media Relations